BAD HAT HARRY and IMAGINEERING: Making the Curriculum Your Own

9781781352458_Imagineering

Here is the front cover of my new book. Please judge the book by its cover! It’s getting written and I’m loving it. It’s a book about reclaiming the curriculum, how we can bung some wonder back into lessons and a compendium of stuff that I’ve been using with children in primary, special and secondary schools up and down the land. And abroad. It’s going to be a worthy follow up to Oops! and I hope it’ll be of interest to you. It’ll be published in July 2016 (these things take time). The lovely Jane Hewitt, my longtime friend and in-another-life colleague, has provided the image on the front as she did with Oops! She’s a very talented photographer and she can be found @janeh271.

It’s been a difficult second of a book (see previous post https://createlearninspire.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/difficult-second/) and I know that some of you may have pre-ordered a copy of a book I was trying to write called The Oath. Frankly, I found it really hard to write. I like the idea of a handbook for great teachers, but suddenly, not long after I’d written about 20,000 words, the concept of an oath for teachers  became a political hot potato (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/education-29482160) and I felt like I was crawling up a hill of treacle. I want to say thank you to those of you who saw that book on platforms such as Amazon and pre-ordered. You were never charged as I never finished it. This one however….this book is…..well, I’m so excited about it.

This week I have taught children from nurture groups in Y2 and 3, a class of Y5, worked with primary classroom practitioners, outstanding Teaching Assistants, ITT trainees and tomorrow I’m having a morning with SEN headteachers. It’s varied, for sure. And at the centre of it all, are the children.

Cheers. Hope your Friday goes well and the weekend is great!

PS:  BAD HAT HARRY?

Of course you know where that’s from 🙂

Leave a Reply

